Higher Education Loans & Scholarship Board (HELSB)


The Board of Directors

The Board has Twelve (12) members coming from the following institutions:

1. Independent – Chairperson
2. Representative of the Ministry of Labour and Social Security – V/Chairperson
3. Representative of the Ministry of Higher Education – Member
4. Representative of the Ministry of Finance – Member
5. Representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Member
6. Representative of the Public Service Management Division – Member
7. Representative of the Attorney General’s Office – Member
8. Director General of the Higher Education Authority – Member
9. Director of the Zambia Qualifications Authority – Member
10. Representative of the Bankers’ Association of Zambia – Member
11. Representative of the Zambia Federation of Employers – Member
12. Representative of the Zambia Institute of Human Resources – Member

Board Committees

The Board of Directors of HELSB was inaugurated in April 2023, marking a significant milestone in the organization’s governance structure. Comprising accomplished professionals and experts in various fields, the Board brings a wealth of experience and expertise to its oversight role. To efficiently execute its functions and ensure effective governance, the Board has established several Committees.These Committees serve as specialized bodies tasked with addressing specific areas of concern and providing strategic guidance on key matters.

Hon. Geoffery M Samukonga
Mrs Mercy Ngoma
Vice Chairperson
Dr. Sam Matika Mbewe
Board Member
Mrs Tamala Namakobo
Board Member
Ms. Comfort Mulenga
Board Member
Mr. Harrington Chibanda
Board Member
Mr. Brian Makufele
Board Member
Mr. Leonard Mwanza
Board Member
Mr. Maurice Hichilema
Board Member
Mr. Develias W Kamulete
Board Member
Dr. John Machayi